The living/sewing/working/music/napping room.The whole living room. I rearrange the furniture a lot, so I can't promise it will be exactly the same, but I can promise it will be cozy and rustic. There are lots of footstools, side tables and floor cushions, so you can even re-arrange it yourself, if you like.


Privatzimmer

2 Gäste

1 Schlafzimmer

1 Bett


Privatzimmer

2 Gäste

1 Schlafzimmer

1 Bett

Bitte leg die Anzahl der Erwachsenen fest.
Erwachsene
1
Bitte leg die Anzahl der Kinder fest.
Kinder
Alter: 2–12 J.
0
Bitte leg die Anzahl der Kleinkinder fest.
Kleinkinder
Unter 2 J.
0
Höchstens 2 Gäste. Kleinkinder werden nicht in die Gesamtzahl der Gäste eingerechnet.
Dir wird noch nichts berechnet
Dir wird noch nichts berechnet

Über dieses Inserat

** NEW AND IMPROVED!**
You'll feel like you've stepped back in time in this charming, rustic character home. It's like a little cottage in the city, with its antique furniture, wide pine flooring and quirky decor.

Now the room has a brand new (as of March) Queen size, latex mattress, with brand new organic cotton sheets, and the living room has been re-arranged to be more spacious, and includes a cushy "nap station."

Die Unterkunft

This cozy home was built in 1860. With wide pine floorboards, two woodstoves, bedrooms with sloped ceilings and Scottish dormers, it has a lot of character, reminiscent of a farmhouse. One friend described it like "being on the set of Little Women."

Your private room includes the amenities to make coffee and tea, a SmartTV with Netflix (no cable), and a mini fridge. The Queen bed has a latex mattress, and organic cotton sheets and pillows. I use unscented laundry detergent for those with scent sensitivities.

A self-serve, plant-based breakfast of homemade granola, coconut yogurt and fruit is offered. Your room has a kettle and coffee and tea. I buy organic and/or local food when possible.

The backyard features a steambath business run by a friend of mine. If you would like to enjoy a steam, you can book a private session that includes guided steaming-cooling cycles and natural healing therapies from sauna cultures around the world. Let me know in advance of you're interested and I'll put you in touch with my friend who can give you more information.

Check out my Instagram for a better sense of the place: @standground

Zugang für Gäste

Some things you might enjoy:

• read or meditate in the book nook
• watch Netflix on the flatscreen in your room
• use the high-speed internet
• relax in a rocking chair by the roaring fire
• play board games in the living room (I'm looking to expand my collection, so if you have a favourite game, let me know before you arrive and I will consider adding it)
• there is also a Spanish guitar for you to play (if you can tune it because I'm clueless about it)

Interaktion mit Gästen

I may not be around all the time you're here, but am happy to interact as much or as little as you like. I will be nearby, though, so anything you need, just ask!

Weitere wichtige Infos

Please note that there is one gentle, snuggly cat in the house. Also, the bedroom and bathroom are up one flight of stairs so this house is not suitable for those with mobility issues.
The house is on a bustling street. Many guests are not bothered by it, but some find it noisy, particularly on Friday and Saturday nights.


Die Unterkunft
Unterkunft für: 2
Badezimmer: 1 (Gemeinsames Badezimmer)
Schlafzimmer: 1
Bett: 1
Check-in: 15:00 – 23:00
Check-out: 11:00
Haustierbesitzer: Katze(n)
Art des Zimmers: Privatzimmer

Ausstattung

Preise
Zusätzliche Personen: Keine Gebühr
Wochenrabatt: 12%
Kommuniziere immer über Airbnb
Um deine Zahlung zu schützen, solltest du niemals außerhalb der Airbnb-Website oder -App kommunizieren oder Geld überweisen. Erfahre mehr

Hausregeln
Rauchen verboten
Nicht für Haustiere geeignet
Keine Partys oder Veranstaltungen
Nicht für Kinder geeignet (0-12 Jahre)
Die Check-in-Zeit ist 15:00–23:00

House Rules
Check-in/check-out time is flexible, but I ask for a one hour window for planning purposes.

This is a cozy old home with a farmhouse vibe. She was built in 1860, and is not as vigorous as she once was, so please treat her gently like the respectable elder she is. Too much excitement rattles her dishes.

The house boasts two wood stoves, one in the kitchen and one in the living room. I am happy to have them blazing to make your stay nice and cozy, but please allow me to light them for you.

The front door is a bit finicky and has been known to pop open unexpectedly. To avoid this mishap, please keep it locked at all times.

Dinah, the cat, is an indoor kitty. Please don’t let her out. She may demand a treat when you enter (because I have trained her to do so). You may give her a treat if you wish; they are inside the terra cotta thing on the radiator.

Whilst I do a thorough clean between each guest stay, I kindly ask that prior to leaving, you put any dirty linens and towels in the hamper. It helps me get through the cleaning process quicker and allows me to keep cleaning costs down for you and future guests.

This is a vegetarian household. You are welcome to bring non-vegetarian take-out foods in, but please do not prepare meat in the kitchen. If you are using the kitchen, please clean up after yourself. You may leave clean dishes in the drying rack, and I will put them away for you.

To ensure we keep the floors clean for our guests' enjoyment, please do not wear shoes upstairs or in the living room.

Please report any spills or damage immediately; I understand that accidents happen, but I would like to assist you with cleanup if necessary.

What you do in your personal time is entirely up to you, but when staying at my place, please restrict your use of recreational substances to caffeine and alcohol.

To keep costs down (and pass those savings on to our guests) I kindly ask that you switch off lights when it’s not in use or leaving the house. You room is equipped with an electric radiator with a dedicated thermostat. Please do not turn it higher than 22c, and please turn it down to 15 if you are leaving for the day. Mother nature thanks you, too.

You may entertain up to two more guests during waking hours. If you have more friends in town, please discuss with me first before inviting additional people.

The small room off of the kitchen, and the back entryway are off limits (except as an emergency exit).

This is a smoke-free home.
Emergencies

There are two fire extinguishers:
behind the fridge
just inside the living room on the wall

There is a smoke detector and carbon monoxide detector as well, so if you hear loud noises, run outside. Don’t forget to bring the cat. Thanks.

In case of emergency, the front door is your best bet, as the back exit has two doors and one or the other is often partially obstructed.


Stornierungen

Flexibel

Wenn du bis 24 Stunden vor deiner Reise stornierst, erhältst du eine volle Rückerstattung inklusive der Service-Gebühren.


Sicherheits-Features
Kohlenmonoxid-Detektor
Rauchmelder
Erste-Hilfe-Set
Sicherheitsanweisungen
Feuerlöscher

Verfügbarkeit
1 Nacht Mindestaufenthalt.
2 Nächte Mindestaufenthalt vom 1. Juni 2017 - 31. August 2017.

76 Bewertungen


Genauigkeit der Angaben
Kommunikation
Sauberkeit
Lage
Check-in
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Nutzerprofil von Scott
Mai 2017
Awesome place. Great location and price. Carolyn was a fantastic host and quick and easy to respond.

Nutzerprofil von Bethanie
Mai 2017
Very charming home and a great, spacious room. Great location downtown. The bed is very cozy too!

Nutzerprofil von Kay
Mai 2017
Carolyn is a kind and very generous host. The house is so cute and well organized, I highly recommend it. And what a cute cat!

Nutzerprofil von Shirley
Mai 2017
This was as described. Very comfortable, lived in environment. Love the cat. Homemade granola was a special treat. Carolyn recommended a a great place for dinner - a bar with a great hamburger. We even got to buy 2 tickets for a chance to go to Greece (at the bar!). The bar also had live music on a Monday evening. Easy to find by car. Carolyn was a great host.

Nutzerprofil von Artur
April 2017
Carol, made us feeling home. Great communication, very flexible and friendly. U have to try her homemade granola! Many thanks for this great stay, Carol.

Nutzerprofil von Shaun
April 2017
Carolyn's place is beautiful and Carolyn herself is a lovely, welcoming host. The location is also great for exploring Halifax outside of the usual tourist haunts. As a very tall person I struggled with the shower and found the bathroom overall just too small. Carolyn offers an extensive house manual and it's a good idea to read this through before booking so you understand all the quirks of staying in an old house with a lot of character.

Nutzerprofil von Scott
März 2017
Terrific value! Carolyn is a great host. Highly recommend.

Dieser Gastgeber hat 5 Bewertungen für andere Unterkünfte.

Andere Bewertungen ansehen

Halifax, Kanada · Mitglied seit Februar 2016
Nutzerprofil von Carolyn

I'm a granola-type person who likes reading, crafting, getting outside, and all things holistic and sustainable. I run a small business making and applying all-natural, non-toxic interior wall finishes. I have a Master of Architecture, used to be a swing dance teacher, and I've just joined Search and Rescue.

Antwortrate: 100%
(vergangene 30 Tage)
Antwortzeit: innerhalb einer Stunde
Genaue Informationen zum Standort erhältst du, nachdem eine Buchung bestätigt wurde.