Zu Inhalten springen
We moved Amma’s Hut listing’s location and therefore lost all previous reviews. Here are some of them, rest of them at the end of the slideshow!And this is Amma!
Hütte

Amma's Hut - New Listing

Nutzerprofil von Eastern Homestay
Eastern Homestay

Amma's Hut - New Listing

3 Gäste
1 Schlafzimmer
2 Betten
1 Badezimmer
3 Gäste
1 Schlafzimmer
2 Betten
1 Badezimmer

Amma means mother in Tamil. Steps away from the gorgeous Kallady Beach is Amma' Hut, a simple and beautiful "Hut" with an "Amma" to take care of you. Let Amma cook your breakfast on firewood while you enjoy a sandy birdy garden. A sunrise delicacy...

Ausstattung

Schlafgelegenheiten

Schlafzimmer 1
1 Doppelbett, 1 Einzelbett

Hausregeln

Rauchen verboten
Nicht für Haustiere geeignet
Keine Partys oder Veranstaltungen
Check-in von 13:00 bis 20:00
Check-out bis 11:00

Verfügbarkeit

14 Bewertungen

Genauigkeit der Angaben
Kommunikation
Sauberkeit
Lage
Check-in
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Nutzerprofil von Alyssa
Alyssa
Juli 2016
Man fühlt sich super wohl bei Amma! Tolle Möglichkeit um die einheimische Kultur kennen zu lernen! Das Essen ist sehr gut und meistens sehr viel! Negativ: - relativ schwer zu finden -keine Einkaufsmöglichkeiten in der Nähe Alles in allem eine super Erfahrung! :)
Nutzerprofil von Eastern Homestay
Antwort von Eastern Homestay:
Thanks Alyssa for your review. Yes, it is difficult to find, this is why we ask our guests to inform us when they arrive in Batticaloa so that we can organize a tuk-tuk that knows the place to pick them up, as even though a tuk-tuk driver tells that he knows the place, most probably he does not know!!! For people coming with vehicles from other locations, all directions are mentioned in the "location" section on Airbnb, it should be easy to find if the guests direct the driver, as most drivers in Sri Lanka find their way, not by reading directions of following a map, but by asking to local people. Sorry that you didn't let us know where you were before getting lost in the village... By now, you know the place, so you are welcome to come back and relax in Amma's Hut!
Juli 2016
Nutzerprofil von Hendrik
Hendrik
Juni 2017
The bed was covert in a thick layer of dust and dead insects. Spider webs everywhere! The fan there worked after I pressed the buttons a hundred times. To move it around would have been nice, unfortunately it was fixed to the wall because it was broken. The dinner was delicious …
Nutzerprofil von Eastern Homestay
Antwort von Eastern Homestay:
Hi Hendrik, thanks for your review. Actually, we agree with some of your points and disagree with some other ones. Let me explain. I don't think the bed could be covered in a thick layer of dust and dead insects, since the bedsheets had been freshly laid for you on the same day. But there was actually dust and dead insects on the top of the mosquito net, as we observed today after visiting Amma's hut following your comment. There were also spider webs under the roof, agreed with this. We were unaware that the ceiling fan was not working and you are right to mention that the standing fan, that we donated to Amma for the additional bed she puts when 3 guests stay in the hut, was indeed difficult to put on (problem with the switch) and tied to the wall as the upper part needed to be fixed. I want to sincerely apologize for all these disagreements as it was not meant to be like this. The mosquito net and roof should have been cleaned properly and both fans should have been in working condition. Actually, we haven’t had the experience of Amma neglecting her place like this before. If you check the other comments, you will agree that despite the hut being basic, people generally describe it as clean and do not complain about the appliances not functioning. Amma is quite upset and busy with some family issues these days, but we had not understood that it had a consequence on the quality of the service she offers to our guests. Today, when we saw the status of the hut, we asked her to put back things in order and have decided to put on hold further bookings until things are back to normal. Again, we are sorry for the bad experience. This said, we would have appreciated that you give us this information when we called you. We spoke to you over the phone 2 times, at no point you gave me information about these problems. We could have come and settled the matters, asked/helped Amma to clean, and provided another standing fan if needed. Not letting us know about the difficulties you encountered when checking in prevented us to correct the situation on the spot. I also want to emphasize that generally, guests call us before reaching Amma’s hut, and we do visit them to welcome them and ensure that everything is alright and that food can be ordered according to their wishes. But in your case, we were informed by Amma that you had arrived, and when I called you, you asked me to organize a tuktuk to go out to attend some personal issue, so we could not visit you since you went out immediately after I phoned you. Regarding the price of the food, I have emailed you 3 days ago to ask you about how much you had paid, and I have so far not received any answer to my question. Amma told me she had charged 500 Rs per head (1000 Rs for both of you) for a vegetarian dinner. Sorry to say, but we consider it fine. That it might be cheaper in Arugam Bay, which is, according to your words “the most touristic place in Sri Lanka”, is obvious, as when there are more people ordering food at a time, you can cook a larger number of portions and decrease the price per head. In the case of Amma, she cooked for you 2 only, and spent most probably 3 hours in the kitchen to prepare what you qualified as a “delicious” dinner. This has to be taken into account. There are plenty of places in Batticaloa that can give decent food for cheaper than this, but this is food (pre)cooked for many, and you have to go there to eat. Here, you can simply sit in Amma’s Hut and get the food you like, freshly cooked for you only. Please try to understand the difference and appreciate the service. Regarding your last point, your “wild guess” assuming that Amma does not see much of the money you paid, Amma receives directly the money from Airbnb on her bank account (around 2700 Rs after Airbnb have cut their fees), but once in a while only (we set up a minimum threshold before sending the money, as the bank fees taken in USA to transfer the funds to Sri Lanka are more than 5 USD per transfer). We charge from Amma 600 Rs per night (500 Rs for the advertisement/booking /communication/training/review and feedback work we do for her and 100 Rs to cover our phone/travelling expenses to make phone calls and come to see the guests when there is a need of translation). Which means Amma gets around 2100 Rs per night. Does that really make us exploiters of “the poor old lady of ammas place”, as you seem to consider her? Since our work in community tourism has been acknowledged locally, we got funds in the past to equip and support a number of homestays in Batticaloa, and we do continue to support most of them to have a presence online and get bookings, facilitate the communication with the guests, enable them to get an income out of the presence of travellers in the area. It does not go without hard work. You have unhappily experienced how it can be if we loosen little bit our supervision of our homestay providers, who remain after all people who are quite new in the industry, and human beings with their own hardships and personal issues. Hoping this can clarify our position on your various concerns. Wishing you better experiences in Sri Lanka and elsewhere in the world!
Juni 2017
Nutzerprofil von Daniel
Daniel
August 2016
We spent two nights at Amma's Hut and it was amazing. We wanted to experience the local way of living and at Amma's place this was definitely possible. The hut is very basic but beautiful, with a nice terrace and a very cool outdoor bathroom with shower. Everything is clean and t…
Nutzerprofil von Allen
Allen
Februar 2017
Amma's is exactly as pictured and exactly as described. As described by others, communication with Amma was limited by our language barrier, but it is obvious she cares about her guests ( and she prepared the tastiest prawns I've had in 8 weeks of traveling in Sri Lanka). Sandrin…
Nutzerprofil von Eastern Homestay
Antwort von Eastern Homestay:
Thanks for your review Allen, Please next time stay a bit longer and we hope you can come for an excursion with us! Have an enjoyable time in Sri Lanka... Sandrine
Februar 2017
Nutzerprofil von Kate
Kate
September 2016
Amma's hut is a lovely little beach shack, just as described on the profile. Amma was an excellent host and we managed to get by without speaking the same language. The food was excellent, we had a range of seafood and vegetarian curries. Plus, a fantastic authentic Sri Lankan br…
Nutzerprofil von Eastern Homestay
Antwort von Eastern Homestay:
Thanks for your review Kate... Yes, staying in Amma's Hut is a little adventure in itself, good to see you enjoyed it! Sorry for the misunderstanding about the food, normally we welcome the guests, help them with translation and with ordering the food, but as it was a holiday on your arrival day, and that we had no answer to our message on time to give you more instructions for your arrival, you happened to find your way to the Hut yourself and to order your food on your own with Amma. We usually recommend that our guests contact us on arrival so that we can organize a tuk-tuk that knows the place and manage the introduction with Amma. Anyway... it didn't happen that way on that day... You are correct about the rates for the food, except that there might be slight variation if the price of raw material goes up (there is no fixed price on the market for seafood, fish, chicken, and even for vegetables, depending on the season). We aleady tried many times to ask Amma to decrease the amount of food she is cooking, but we gave up on this, as she won't accept this... Anyway, the food won't be wasted, don't worry! Just a small correction, we are not a charity, but a travel agency, registered by the Sri Lankan Tourism Board, organizing homestays, excursions, tours, bicycle rental, taxis, etc, but focusing specially on Batticaloa and on community tourism, in order to create income for the local communities our of tourism activities. Amma is therefore one of our hosts, and it is good that our guests contact us before/upon arrival so that we can make sure everything goes smoothly despite the possible communication gap! Hope to see you another time in our Beautiful Batticaloa! Sandrine - East N' West on Board
September 2016
Nutzerprofil von Maya
Maya
September 2016
My girlfriend and I stayed in Amma's Hut for one night en route from Arugam Bay to Trincomalee. The hut was perfect for a one night stop over because of its price and location next to the beach. All the pre check in communication was with Sandrine, a representative from Eastern…
Nutzerprofil von Giulia
Giulia
August 2016
Amma was very welcoming, her hut in the middle of this rural village is full of character and clean. She is very generous and a great cook, and despite the language barrier we had a lovely time and could comunicate with her for what we needed. Sandrine was also very helpful and k…
Nutzerprofil von Eastern Homestay
Antwort von Eastern Homestay:
Thanks Giulia for your review... Our English/Tamil phrase book is now available in Amma's Hut, which should help our guests to communicate with Amma and have fun trying to learn the basics of Tamil. Nevertheless, we are available anytime over the phone to ease the communication if needed... Hope to see you guys another time!
August 2016

Gastgeber: Eastern Homestay

Batticaloa, Sri LankaMitglied seit Januar 2014
Nutzerprofil von Eastern Homestay
64 Bewertungen
Verifiziert
At Eastern Homestay, we intend to put in touch guests from around the world with our local families willing to offer homestay facilities. By travelling with us, you contribute to our aim of creating economic opportunities for local communities. While you enjoy chatting with y…
Sprachen: English, Français
Antwortrate: 100%
Antwortzeit: innerhalb eines Tages
Kommuniziere immer über AirbnbUm deine Zahlung zu schützen, solltest du niemals außerhalb der Airbnb-Website oder -App kommunizieren oder Geld überweisen.

Die Nachbarschaft

Drücke die Abwärts-Taste, um ein Reisedatum auf dem Kalender auszuwählen. Drücke die Fragezeichen-Taste, um die Tastaturkürzel zum Ändern von Reisedaten aufzurufen.

Check-in

Drücke die Abwärts-Taste, um ein Reisedatum auf dem Kalender auszuwählen. Drücke die Fragezeichen-Taste, um die Tastaturkürzel zum Ändern von Reisedaten aufzurufen.

Check-out
Dir wird noch nichts berechnet

Ähnliche Unterkünfte