It's really hard to show the house in one picture because of hedges.The back porch sits 30 ft off the ground looking over the beautiful mountains


Ganze Unterkunft

6 Gäste

2 Schlafzimmer

6 Betten


Ganze Unterkunft

6 Gäste

2 Schlafzimmer

6 Betten

Bitte leg die Anzahl der Erwachsenen fest.
Erwachsene
1
Bitte leg die Anzahl der Kinder fest.
Kinder
Alter: 2–12 J.
0
Bitte leg die Anzahl der Kleinkinder fest.
Kleinkinder
Unter 2 J.
0
Höchstens 6 Gäste. Kleinkinder werden nicht in die Gesamtzahl der Gäste eingerechnet.
Dir wird noch nichts berechnet
Dir wird noch nichts berechnet

Über dieses Inserat

Designed by Mr. Bunn, and built by a well-known builder out of Highlands, the house is paneled predominantly with smooth cedar plank boards. The living room boasts exposed beveled beams, with wood covered bolts, a cherry floor and wormy chestnut paneled walls, a rarity after the blight of the chestnut trees.

Die Unterkunft

Roy Bunn came to the Carolinas from Iowa in the 1940’s, bought a mountaintop and built this cozy winterized home to live in while he developed sites for the rest of the neighborhood. He selected the best lot, with a view of Whiteside Mountain, and nestled his home right next to a stream that cascades over a small falls, runs along the side of the house down to a waterfall below. He built a bridge across the stream and through a tunnel of mountain laurel Mr. Bunn could walk to a quiet meadow under an enormous hemlock tree, five acres in all.

When my family constructed the house a short hike past Mr. Bunn’s grapevine, the families grew to know each other and his house became affectionately known as The Bunn House. Mr. Bunn has passed on, as well as my grandparents. Now it’s our house, with all its mementos and curious eccentricities, like the copper envelope holder by the entrance, swinging Dutch door into the office and Mr. Bunn’s safari hat hanging on a piece of old laurel root outside. Three families were raised here and now we are ready to share it with you.

In the morning you can heat up the kitchen with another fire there, or turn on the furnace for an hour or two until the day warms up, often to a perfect 72 in the summer. In a heat wave, fans are all that are needed to keep cool after opening the windows for cross ventilation.

Twilight is my favorite time on the deck, stretched out on cushy cypress wood chairs listening to the birds while light closes down on Whiteside Mountain. During the day, hummingbirds visit feeders and the trees move in the breeze. When it rains, Adirondack chairs on the front porch sit safely under shelter and allow you to read or just enjoy the sounds of the Appalachian rain forest. Wild flowers grow along the stream and the granite gravel drive, while laurel drop blooms on the trail and rhododendron grow like trees.

From humble beginnings, we try to maintain our humility and not overprice the simple life. You will have everything you need and none of the worries you left behind. Cable TV and WIFI, comfortable beds and amenable temperatures offer an atmosphere unparalleled.

Zugang für Gäste

You have the entire house and property to yourself, so enjoy!

Interaktion mit Gästen

The bookshelves are stocked with classics from high school reading lists, novels that guests have shared and books about the area, wildlife and history. There is also a drawer full of brochures, trail maps and excursions from local vendors. If you need specific information, you may call or email me directly.

Weitere wichtige Infos

A note on bears:
Bears live in the mountains and are a protected species. In Stillmont as elsewhere, there have been some bear sightings and a few break-ins, Yogi and BooBoo looking for picnic baskets. We just close the windows to the deck and dining room when we leave or go to bed and that takes care of it. The rest of the windows are up on the second floor and inaccessible.


Die Unterkunft
Badezimmer: 2
Schlafzimmer: 2
Betten: 6
Check-in: 16:00 – 02:00 (next day)
Check-out: 11:00
Art des Zimmers: Ganze Unterkunft
Eigenständiger Check-in: Vernetztes Türschloss

Ausstattung

Preise
Zusätzliche Personen: Keine Gebühr
Reinigungsgebühr: 92€
Kommuniziere immer über Airbnb
Um deine Zahlung zu schützen, solltest du niemals außerhalb der Airbnb-Website oder -App kommunizieren oder Geld überweisen. Erfahre mehr

Hausregeln
Rauchen verboten
Nicht für Haustiere geeignet
Keine Partys oder Veranstaltungen
Eventuell nicht für Kinder geeignet (unter 2 Jahre)
Die Check-in-Zeit ist 16:00–02:00 (next day)

Because this is a family house and we have pretty intense allergies, we do not allow pets or smoking. For those with allergies you will appreciate the efforts we take to keep the allergens down.


Stornierungen

Streng

Wenn du bis zu 7 Tage vor deinem Aufenthalt stornierst, erhältst du eine Rückerstattung über 50 %, plus die Service-Gebühren.


Sicherheits-Features
Rauchmelder
Kohlenmonoxid-Detektor
Erste-Hilfe-Set
Feuerlöscher

Verfügbarkeit
Der Mindestaufenthalt in dieser Unterkunft variiert.
Füge deine Reisedaten hinzu, um weitere Details zu sehen.

3 Bewertungen


Genauigkeit der Angaben
Kommunikation
Sauberkeit
Lage
Check-in
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Nutzerprofil von Chris
November 2016
Nice home with a great mountain view, made for a perfect thanksgiving stay.

Nutzerprofil von Colin
Oktober 2016
Lovely cabin in a great little town. Dorothy took care of everything to make the stay as simple and painless as possible. Definitely recommend!

Nutzerprofil von Michele
September 2016
We had a lovely time in this turn of an era 1940's cabin. Very authentic and cozy feeling upon entering. Interesting collection of books to peruse. Sitting on the open deck with the view of the mountain in the cool morning air, with a cup of coffee was just the best. While you have a secluded feel, the cabin is very conveniently located between Cashiers and The Highlands. We enjoyed walking the neighborhood also. Overall it was a pleasant experience, one must appreciate the lives richly lived here.
Nutzerprofil von Dorothy
Antwort von Dorothy:
Thank you for your kind review. I appreciate your feedback on the sheets and think they are about due to be replaced. Concerning the bears, I have stayed up here for four years and never had a problem. This is a new issue in Stillmont and I was sure to let everyone know as soon as it became obvious. It is now on my site for all newcomers.
September 2016

Dieser Gastgeber hat 6 Bewertungen für andere Unterkünfte.

Andere Bewertungen ansehen

Atlantic Beach, Florida, Vereinigte Staaten · Mitglied seit Januar 2014
Nutzerprofil von Dorothy

I grew up in Jacksonville, Florida and moved away after college. After raising a family of four boys and a husband, I bought a house close to home but miles away. I wanted to be near my parents but immerse myself in the beach life of Atlantic Beach. I lived there most of the time and rented part-time. Then my husband got a part-time job in Charleston and travels there during the winter. I considered AirBnB an opportunity to share the homes we live in part-time so that's what we do!

In the summer we live on our farm in Kentucky where I am an Equus Coach, my dream job. Through this I teach leadership skills, improve relationships, help the walking wounded and much, much more. It is my passion, as are horses, and I keep thinking, perhaps miniature horses would fit into the backyard on James Island. Maybe?

Antwortrate: 100%
(letzte 10 Kontakte)
Antwortzeit: innerhalb einer Stunde
Genaue Informationen zum Standort erhältst du, nachdem eine Buchung bestätigt wurde.