Early Fall. The trees in the front of the cabin are being removed to improve the view.And wine.
2 Gäste
1 Schlafzimmer
1 Bett
1 Badezimmer
2 Gäste
1 Schlafzimmer
1 Bett
1 Badezimmer
Bitte leg die Anzahl der Erwachsenen fest.
Erwachsene
1
Bitte leg die Anzahl der Kinder fest.
Kinder
Alter: 2–12 J.
0
Bitte leg die Anzahl der Kleinkinder fest.
Kleinkinder
Unter 2 J.
0
Höchstens 2 Gäste. Kleinkinder werden nicht in die Gesamtzahl der Gäste eingerechnet.
Dir wird noch nichts berechnet

A fully equipped and comfortable cozy hilltop fishing cabin overlooking the Margaree River. The location is convenient for travellers who may want to drive to Mabou, Inverness, the local beaches and, of course, the Cabot Trail. Visitors who just want convenient access to the Cabot Trail might be better served in Cheticamp or even on the eastern side of the Island, near Ingonish.

Der Wohnraum

The cabin is a work in progress. I stay there comfortably but there is work yet to be completed. The driveway has just been upgraded (Aug 3rd) but the verandah roof and deck is in need of repairs. There is also a slant to the floor that I have repaired as much as I dared. You can see the road just down the hill yet you have complete privacy. There are no neighbours in sight.

Zugang für Gäste

I want you to be completely comfortable in my retirement cabin. There is a House Manual, and I will give you detailed instructions after I introduce the place to you. The wi-fi is dependable but may not be suitable for multiple people streaming simultaneously.

Interaktion mit Gästen

Airbnb provides a means to help pay for upkeep and maintenance of my retirement cabin. The cabin is not a motel or a business venture with round the clock staff. Meeting my guests is both a pleasure and an important aspect of the process. I’m happy to share my experience and opinions about Cape Breton, if you would like. I would also like to be flexible regarding check in and out, but it can cause a problem when guests check-in later than planned. I live over an hour away and some missed suppers and an annoyed wife has been the unpleasant result of late check-in’s.
Solution: Communication is the key. I will message/email you the day before your arrival to get an idea of when you expect to arrive. If you tell me where you are staying I can likely give you an estimate of driving time to the cabin. If your plans change it is helpful if you let me know as soon a possible. You can always request an early check in and go about touring the area after we meet. The bottom line is that I like to be on the road home before dark.

Weitere wichtige Infos

As a country residence I set mouse traps. If you have a pet or children please let me know so I can remove them. (The traps not your pets or children)
If you need the convertible couch made up for a member of your party please let me know so I can provide fresh linens.


Schlafgelegenheiten
Schlafzimmer 1
1 Doppelbett (mind. 1,50 x 2 m)
Gemeinsam genutzte Räume
1 Schlafcouch

Ausstattung
Küche
Wesentliches
Shampoo
Heizung

Preise
Zusätzliche Personen Keine Gebühr
Kommuniziere immer über Airbnb
Um deine Zahlung zu schützen, solltest du niemals außerhalb der Airbnb-Website oder -App kommunizieren oder Geld überweisen.
Erfahre mehr

Hausregeln
Rauchen verboten
Keine Partys oder Veranstaltungen
Nicht sicher oder ungeeignet für Kinder (2–12 Jahre)
Die Check-in-Zeit ist 12:00–18:00
Check-out bis 11:00

- Shoes can be left on the veranda.
- Smoking on the veranda.
- The Maple Kitchen counter needs to be kept dry after use.
- Dogs are not to be left alone in the cabin.


Stornierungen

Sicherheits-Features
Rauchmelder
Erste-Hilfe-Set
Sicherheitsanweisungen
Feuerlöscher

Verfügbarkeit
2 Nächte Mindestaufenthalt.

20 Bewertungen

Genauigkeit der Angaben
Kommunikation
Sauberkeit
Lage
Check-in
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Nutzerprofil von Clemens
August 2017
Die Hütte ist sehr gemütlich eingerichtet und voll ausgestattet. Wer eine abgelegene, ruhige und etwas andere Unterkunft sucht, macht hiermit alles richtig. Die Kommunikation mit John war hervorragend und nach einer kurzen Übergabe überließ er uns die Hütte. Wer in den Cape Breton National Park reist, benötigt für die fahrt ca 1h. Abschließend kann ich hier nur von einem hervorragenden Angebot sprechen.

Nutzerprofil von Jack
September 2017
John's place is 'as advertised'. It's a shack located between the Hatfields and McCoys. But do yourself a favor and resist the temptation to shift into reverse upon the first sighting. Interior is immaculate with up to date and well functioning bath, every conceivable appliance and utensil in the kitchen and a comfortable bed. Open porch is perfect for lounging with coffee or adult beverage, while enjoying a wonderful view of the surrounding hills and watching the morning sun burn away the fog. Were able to begin our navigation of the Cabot Trail at the bottom of the driveway on a leisurely day trip. This place is 'rustic'. My wife and I reached 'senior' status ten years ago and we loved this place!

Nutzerprofil von Tiffany
September 2017
Very rustic but clean cabin. Excellent area on the Cabot trail. Host was excellent with communication and ensuring we had everything we needed. Would absolutely stay here again!

Nutzerprofil von Nayereh
September 2017
This home is located in an ideal location for driving the Cabot Trail! You can start from the beginning of the trail right from the driveway and avoid the touristy expensive towns. The home is quaint and very relaxing. Highly recommended!

Nutzerprofil von Tim
August 2017
John's write up about the Shackteau is completely accurate. A great launch point for day tripping to Eqypt Falls, the River, Beaches on the coast, Cape Breton Highlands Park and south to Baddeck. Quiet, private, very clean, comfortable bed, very clean bathroom, well-equipped kitchen and wonderful deck with a view. Would highly recommend the Shackteau for anyone looking for a get-away to somewhere quiet. Personable, caring and genuine host.

Nutzerprofil von Bob
August 2017
Nice little cabin in a good location. Wonderful view from the front porch which was a very nice place to sit. Host was friendly and helpful.

Nutzerprofil von Steffen
August 2017
Ecxellent location. Clean, provides everything you need and all the important "must see" spots are close by. Even I could not meet John personally (unfortunately, due to my late arrving), the communication was very easy. John had set up everything perfectly. In summary: Host+Cabin highly recommended!

Nova Scotia, KanadaMitglied seit Juli 2010
Nutzerprofil von John

I'm a recently retired teacher. My wife, Wilma, is an office worker and about to retire. Beginning in November 2016 I am looking for destinations for my wife and I to get away from our cold Canadian winters.
We have 2 children, Beth lives in Brooklyn and works in an Art Gallery. Sam is studying in China.
I love to travel. I lead school groups to Europe. Fly Fishing for Atlantic Salmon is a passion. Nova Scotia, Quebec, Newfoundland/Labrador and Norway.
Nature and photography is important-flowers, trees and birds.
Our family lived in Paris for a year when the children were in school. We understand that quality of life is more important than standard of living. My profile picture was taken in Beijing with Beth and Sam.

Sprachen: English
Antwortrate: 100%
Antwortzeit: innerhalb einer Stunde

Die Nachbarschaft

Ähnliche Unterkünfte