your room, view 2for your reading pleasure
Privatzimmer
2 Gäste
1 Schlafzimmer
1 Bett
1 Erwachsener
0 Kinder
Alter: 2–12 J.
0 Kleinkinder
Unter 2 J.
Höchstens 2 Gäste. Kleinkinder werden nicht in die Gesamtzahl der Gäste eingerechnet.
Dir wird noch nichts berechnet
Von 685 Reisenden gespeichert

Über dieses Inserat

Stay in our quirky, cozy home in the historic Brooklyn Neighborhood! It's off the beaten path in a good way, but very close to downtown and right on the MAX Orange Line. We are a queer couple in our 20s plus an adorable dog and cat! Pot friendly.


Die Unterkunft
Unterkunft für: 2
Badezimmer: 2 (Gemeinsames Badezimmer)
Schlafzimmer: 1
Betten: 1
Check-in: 15:00 - 02:00 (next day)
Check-out: 12:00
Haustierbesitzer: Hund(e) und Katze(n)
Art des Zimmers: Privatzimmer
Ausstattung
Preise
Zusätzliche Personen: Keine Gebühr
Wochenrabatt: 10%
Stornierung: Moderat
Beschreibung

Stay in our quirky, cozy home in the historic Brooklyn Neighborhood! It's off the beaten path in a good way, but very close to downtown and right on the MAX Orange Line. We are a queer couple in our 20s plus an adorable dog and cat! Pot friendly.

This is a fun house with three other bedrooms besides yours, two of which are also listed on Airbnb.


The room is on the second floor and is on the smaller [cozier!] side. The bed is a very comfy full size mattress and box spring with four feather pillows, a down comforter, and all cotton linens. There's no closet but there is a luggage rack and also a "hat rack" with hangers for your clothes. There are two full bathrooms at your disposal (one on each floor) and you are welcome to use either one - towels, washcloths and hand towels are provided upstairs, as well as hair dryer, shampoo, conditioner, soap and body lotion.

You are welcome to anything in the common spaces unless clearly marked otherwise, including an awesomely appointed kitchen (featuring lots of local food & high quality appliances/gadgets).

You are also welcome to our many books and cookbooks, board games, essential oils (bath time, anyone?), weird fermented things, and computer & printer.

We have a Guide Book for you to peruse, but feel free to ask for more recommendations beyond what's in there! Between the two of us we've spent about ten years in the area. While we're still discovering new things every day, we also have some great recommendations you won't get just anywhere. If you let us know beforehand what specifically you're looking to do (or find or eat or drink), we can often have personalized recommendations ready for you when you arrive - this is especially useful if you're only here for a day or two.

Because there is such a huge range of expectations among guests and hosts, we don't usually assume that guests want to hang out unless you say so; we don't want you to feel obligated to chat with us if you're just here to do your thing! On the other hand, we love meeting new people and hearing about other places and experiences, and when there's interest, hanging out with our guests is often the most rewarding part of hosting. Because much of our work is done from home, we won't always be able to socialize; sometimes making plans with guests in advance is the easiest.

We are fairly direct, blunt communicators, and we appreciate the same! If you have a problem or can't find something while you're here, PLEASE let us know - don't wait until writing your review to let us know about it. If you're trying to address a problem and can't find us, feel free to send a text or email.

Brooklyn is our favorite Portland neighborhood! It has a definite off-the-beaten-path feel while still being very close to downtown and other more trendy/crowded neighborhoods (like Division, Hawthorne and Sellwood). This neighborhood really is remarkably undeveloped and "undiscovered" for how close to downtown it is. It's mostly residential with lots of cute old houses and families, some small businesses, and, across the tracks, a commercial/industrial area.

Our house is within 5 minutes of multiple busses (lines ) and the new MAX Orange Line. Downtown is an 10-minute drive, 15-minute bike ride, or 20-25-minute MAX / bus ride away. Walk or bike to Hawthorne, Division, Clinton, Sellwood, OMSI, Oaks Bottom Wildlife Refuge, or the Eastbank Esplanade (a bike/pedestrian path along the Willamette). We are minutes from the 4T Trail ("Trail, Tram, Trolley, Train"). OHSU and PSU are both just across the river from us and many guests have enjoyed easy commutes.

Between us (the hosts) and the three Airbnb rooms, there are sometimes up to 9 people staying in the house. This is usually a good thing, except for they way it puts morning showers in high demand (pro tip: there's another bathroom downstairs!). You won't be able to lock the door to your room while you're out - some people are concerned about this, but it's never been a problem and we don't expect it to be.

Also, we're human beings, and our flaws are what gives this house character. SO, while we spend what often feels like all day trying to keep a clean and tidy house, sometimes there are a few dishes in the sink, a benign stain or two on the linens, a rotting fermentation experiment gone wrong in the kitchen, etc.

We do NOT have a microwave! We do have a very fancy mini oven that does a fantastic job of heating things up quickly. We are also experts at microwave-free living, so let us know what you're trying to accomplish and we can probably help think up a workaround.

Pot has been legal in Oregon since July (any adult over 21 can buy up to 1/4 oz. per day from dispensaries). It's used fairly visibly in the house, both medically and recreationally, by us and by some of our guests. If you're not comfortable with being around pot, this listing may not be the best fit for you! You won't be squinting your way through hazy clouds of pot smoke - actually the air is amply freshened by the many house plants, and usually smells of lavender and antiques - but you will probably smell pot at least once while you're here.

This house is over 100 years old and has a tendency to quake slightly when people are walking around. It usually only lasts for a few seconds at a time, but it makes some people uneasy, so please be aware of that when booking. Also, old houses don't dampen noises very well. Please let us know if noise is an issue for you and we can provide a white noise machine (it's definitely a relatively quiet house, but some guests have been bothered by other people's late arrivals, doors closing, etc.)

Hausregeln
Nicht für Haustiere geeignet
Nicht für Kinder geeignet (0-12 Jahre)
Die Check-in-Zeit ist 15:00 – 02:00 (next day).

Because it's important for us to know who is staying with us and for liability reasons, we do not allow third party bookings. This means no booking for a friend or family member - just have them make their own account and book under their name.

You are welcome to explore any part of the house & yard, other than the bedrooms. Unless something has someone's name on it, or is clearly marked "do not use," you can use it!

If you leave stuff in the common areas that you don't want other people to use/eat/drink, LABEL IT!

Please smoke cigarettes on the front porch only. Pot smoking is allowed indoors, but only in the common areas and bathrooms. Please don't smoke in your bedroom or anywhere else with a carpet. You are also more than welcome to smoke pot outside or on the porches - just keep in mind that legally, you're not supposed to use pot in public or in public view.

We do a shoes-off rule; it's okay to keep them on downstairs, but please take them off before going upstairs on the carpet.

Because the upstairs bathroom can get crowded, please try to be conscious of the time you spend there in the mornings (8-11am). Or be a trendsetter and go use the downstairs bathroom! (Claw foot tub, anyone?)

We are usually okay with you bringing guests over, but we need you to let us know beforehand so we can have an idea of what to expect.

Please try to keep noise down at night or very early morning, especially when on the deck or porches, out of respect for our neighbors.

Sicherheits-Features
Rauchmelder
Erste-Hilfe-Set
Verfügbarkeit
1 Nacht Mindestaufenthalt

171 Bewertungen


Zusammenfassung
Genauigkeit der Angaben
Kommunikation
Sauberkeit
Lage
Check-in
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis

Dieser Gastgeber hat 296 Bewertungen für andere Unterkünfte.

Andere Bewertungen ansehen

Dein Gastgeber


Leah & David

Leah & David

Portland, Oregon, Vereinigte Staaten · Mitglied seit Mai 2012

We are Leah and David, two queerdos who like to pick our noses (while we tidy). Our interests include food, animals, crafting, human bodies, liberation, hiking, board games, exploring, laughing and connecting.

Antwortrate: 100%(vergangene 30 Tage)
Antwortzeit: innerhalb einer Stunde

Social Connections
Dir wird noch nichts berechnet