Shared kitchen area with microwave, stove, toaster oven.Living room area with large-screen LED TV on opposite wall.


Privatzimmer

2 Gäste

1 Schlafzimmer

1 Bett


Privatzimmer

2 Gäste

1 Schlafzimmer

1 Bett

1 Erwachsener
0 Kinder
Alter: 2–12 J.
0 Kleinkinder
Unter 2 J.
Höchstens 2 Gäste. Kleinkinder werden nicht in die Gesamtzahl der Gäste eingerechnet.
Dir wird noch nichts berechnet
Von 98 Reisenden gespeichert

Über dieses Inserat

Our home is simple with private, cozy bedroom with queen bed, near bus and 5-minute walk to grocery store and restaurants. Many of our guests are student researchers at the Ronald Reagan Library. We are not a good location for LA tourists unless you have a car. If you rent a car, there is street parking out front of the house.


Die Unterkunft
Unterkunft für: 2
Badezimmer: 1 (Gemeinsames Badezimmer)
Schlafzimmer: 1
Betten: 1
Check-out: 16:00
Haustierbesitzer: Hund(e) und Katze(n)
Art des Zimmers: Privatzimmer

Ausstattung

Preise
Zusätzliche Personen: 19€ / Nacht nach dem ersten Gast
Reinigungsgebühr: 19€
Wochenrabatt: 30%
Stornierung: Moderat

Beschreibung

Our home is simple with private, cozy bedroom with queen bed, near bus and 5-minute walk to grocery store and restaurants. Many of our guests are student researchers at the Ronald Reagan Library. We are not a good location for LA tourists unless you have a car. If you rent a car, there is street parking out front of the house.

NO SMOKERS and NO reservation accepted without COMPLETE profile (including a photo, where you are from, and something about yourself). Please do not rent our room using any account but your own with photo :) Newbies to airbnb with no reviews will likely be declined.

Private bedroom with new, comfortable queen-sized bed in 4-bedroom house, 32" TV with DVD player. Use of kitchen including dishes/pans and basic condiments as long as you clean up. There is backyard with table, swing, and waterfall, with a bit of construction equipment for Ruthie's projects. Bathroom is shared with one woman renter, so we appreciate you being considerate of this shared space and her need to have use of bathroom pm each day to get ready for work. The room is a bit small for 2 people, but still great to sleep if you plan to be out a lot.

For Reagan Library researchers who fly into LAX, you can take Van Nuys Shuttle from LAX for $8 and then take Roadrunner Shuttle for about $20, or for $50-60 you can take Roadrunner Airport Shuttle from LAX to our house. The shuttle from Burbank Airport to our house is around $20. Uber or Lyft is also an option, and for first-time users there are coupons out there--regular price usually around $60 as we are 50 miles from airport. If you can find a good price to fly to Burbank Airport, it is much closer to Simi Valley.

We do NOT have pool, but for a fee you can use pool and tennis courts at nearby 24-Hour Fitness (10-minute walk away). Sometimes they will give out a guest pass for 1-3 weeks for free if you tell them you just "moved" to the area. Otherwise a pass is $15 a day, unsure of weekly rate. There are some pretty neighborhoods and trails around if you are a runner.

We do have 1 large older dog, 2 small dogs, and 2 cats, so you must not be allergic to animals or afraid of dogs! You also have to be careful with exterior doors, as cats are not allowed out.

Simple breakfast is of bagels and coffee is provided ONLY IF you are just here for 1 or 2 night stay--weekly rates are available and you can use kitchen to cook meals for yourself, but feel free to use our pan, dishes, and condiments. Fast food and restaurants are short walking distance. BREAKFAST NOT INCLUDED at weekly or monthly rate except for 1st morning if you haven't had time to shop.

House has WIFI if you bring your computer. We have a printer (you can print from your phone), and we have 3 computers in the house if you need to look up directions or print a boarding pass.

For doctoral researchers, Ronald Reagan Library is exactly 3 miles away, with bus 2-minute walk from our house--I think bus is $1.50 each way. and doesn't run on Sundays Our house is walking distance to grocery store, 24-Hour Fitness, and several restaurants, and we have a bicycle you can borrow with lock. We are 30 miles from beach but no public transportation access (Malibu is southwest and Ventura northwest), 70 miles north of Disneyland, 35 miles north of Universal Studios or Hollywood, and 40 miles from Santa Clarita/Valencia. However, Santa Barbara is a beautiful town coast 60 miles north along the coast and one can take Amtrak there. A car is an absolute MUST if you are a tourist visiting LA. Mass transit from Simi Valley is terrible and doesn't even exist on Sundays! Also keep in mind Los Angeles is VERY spread out and frequent heavy traffic adds a lot to your driving times--it always surprises European travelers how far apart everything is.

We totally respect your privacy and don't even go into guest room while you're here (except cleaning day every other Thursday) or to close/shut window for AC. We love interaction with our guests as time allows--I do work out of a home office so I am often busy working! The "public parts" of the house are sometimes a bit messy as Ruthie does sewing, painting, and various home improvement projects, and our dogs are like 2-year olds and spread toys all over the house--we do not allow them in guest room.

Our neighborhood is a simple, typical American street, but we are near a busy street which means the city bus is close, and the grocery store and a few restaurants are walking distance. Ali Babbas restaurant has been a favorite with many guests, as well as Golden Tiger Chinese food. Sometimes the neighbor's dog barks, so we have provided a "sound machine" that drowns out noise. If you are a light sleeper, recommend you bring earplugs or use our sound machine.

Public transit in Southern California is very poor. We do have a city bus system in Simi, but it doesn't run on Sundays. As a tourist, it is a must that you have a car. You can Simi Valley Transit if you want to see bus routes and pricing. You can take Amtrak to Los Angeles any day but Sunday, but even the Amtrak station is 6 miles from our home.

We have 2 cats and 3 dogs and keep things clean as possible, but our large elderly dog has a severe skin allergy problem for which he often sees the vet, so he is affectionately our "stinky llama." If you are sensitive to animals and their normal smells, this is not the place for you. We cannot take in your animals even though we are animal loves, as our big dog Chevy does not like other dogs and our cats would be afraid of a new dog. No matter how short or long you stay, all 3 dogs will bark and greet you every time you enter house so must not be afraid of dogs! The cats are INSIDE cats and you must be very careful of leaving any outside doors open for more than 2 seconds!!! My clever Oriental cat is an escape artist but must not be allowed out for her safety.


Hausregeln
Rauchen verboten
Nicht für Haustiere geeignet
Keine Partys oder Veranstaltungen
Nicht für Kinder geeignet (0-12 Jahre)

There are 2 bathrooms in our 1800 sq ft house. The guest bedroom is 10x12 feet (or 11 sq meters for Europeans) with use of half the closet and a dresser as well as many hanging pegs. Only NON-SMOKERS please, as owner is allergic to even the smell of smoke on clothes. Our dog will bark each time you return, but they are friendly--we keep dogs in our room at night. DO NOT leave any outside doors open as my cats our inside only. But because dogs do bark, we prefer guests who will not be arriving back late each evening.

No drugs, no smoking, no late partying. We prefer to house people who are studying at local universities or the Ronald Reagan Library, those moving to the area for a new job, or retired folks. No teenagers, young adults (unless it's for new job or research at Reagan Library) and no "party people." We do this for fun, not for a living :-)

If you stay for over a week at our special rate, you may use our washer and dryer to wash your clothes once or twice as well as sheets and towels each week if you like. We do NOT clean the room thoroughly until after you leave because we respect your privacy. Every other week we will dust and mop floor, but we leave it up to you to grab a clean towel or throw your sheets in the washer whenever you want. You may use dishes and pots and pans in kitchen as long as you clean up afterward :)


Sicherheits-Features
Rauchmelder
Kohlenmonoxid-Detektor
Erste-Hilfe-Set
Feuerlöscher

Verfügbarkeit
1 Nacht Mindestaufenthalt

41 Bewertungen


Genauigkeit der Angaben
Kommunikation
Sauberkeit
Lage
Check-in
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Simi Valley, Kalifornien, Vereinigte Staaten · Mitglied seit März 2011
Nutzerprofil von RuthieRuthie ist ein Superhost.

Ruthie works out of a home office, and Jay is a hospital Chaplain, so someone is usually home but quiet :) Ruth is a francophile, and Jay loves Germany (we met and dated in Germany in 1970s!). We would love to travel if we could find the time, but for now we are still busy with work, our 3 grown and married children, 3 granddaughters and one on the way, 2 cats, and 3 dogs. Ruthie has a cousin who lives with us full-time named Cindy who is extremely nice and very quiet--she loves everything British.

Antwortrate: 100%
(vergangene 90 Tage)
Antwortzeit: innerhalb eines Tages

Social Connections
Genaue Informationen zum Standort erhältst du, nachdem eine Buchung bestätigt wurde.
Dir wird noch nichts berechnet